Reviews

Love Is a Dog from Hell | Review

51+aSQlBnYL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Capturef

That old crazy drunk poet who FUCK, GET LAID, HAVE SEX, MAKE LOVE, CRAP, DRINK, HAVE A JOINT THEN MAKE LOVE, HAVE SEX, GET LAID so on and so forth.

“women don’t know how to love,
she told me.
you know how to love
but women just want to
leech.
I know this because I’m a
woman.”

At first, all what I was thinking of is how the hell he become famous? do people dignify sex that much? but I gave the book the benefit of the doubting and continue reading until the end. All what I can say is that I loved the poems when he’s not talking about sex and whores, meanings become wonderful and make that sweet poetic sense.
I should note that his poetry is not rhymed poetry. It is like a poetic story, instead of being written on one line he decided to press the enter button; However, there are particular lines I liked from all his sex and whoring “poems”. On the other hand I fall for some of his REAL POEMS.

“you were once strong enough to live alone.
for a man nearing sixty you should be more
sensible.”

Overall, I can’t say that he writes badly or his poems doesn’t make sense, it do make sense dramatically for him and they are good but I wasn’t expecting something like that.

“human relationships simply aren’t
durable.”

That crazy poet, knows how to make you stay tuned. I’ll definitely read further from him poems. As for a full poems, I love: an almost made up poem, one for old snaggle-tooth, what they want, how to be a great writer, alone with everybody.

“magic. there’s no lie in her fire.” I loved you
like a man loves a woman he never touches, only
writes to, keeps little photographs of.
your letters got sadder.
your lovers betrayed you. kid, I wrote back, all
lovers betray. it didn’t help. you said
you had a crying bench and it was by a bridge and
the bridge was over a river and you sat on the crying
bench every night and wept for the lovers who had
hurt and forgotten you.
if I had met you
I would probably have been unfair to you or you
to me. it was best like this.”

– an almost made up poem

“I promised to write. she promised to write.
neither of us has written.”

“and we were once great lovers,”

“I need a good woman. I need a good woman
more than I need this typewriter, more than
I need my automobile, more than I need
Mozart; I need a good woman so badly that I
can taste her in the air, I can feel her
at my fingertips, I can see sidewalks built
for her feet to walk upon,
I can see pillows for her head,
I can feel my waiting laughter,
I can see her petting a cat,
I can see her sleeping,
I can see her slippers on the floor.
I know that she exists
but where is she upon this earth”

“don’t worry about rejections, pard,
I’ve been rejected
before.”


Love Is a Dog from Hell by Charles Bukowski

February 18, 2017 – Started Reading
February 21, 2017 – Finished Reading

*I don’t have a cope of the book.

Leave a Reply

